‘If kids are old enough to be shot, they’re old enough to have an opinion about being shot’


View original post [i.redd.it]




Comments:

21 Mar 2018 19:22 - +7354
If men don't have babies, why should they be making my abortion laws?
21 Mar 2018 19:18 - +2877
Fun Fact: Tucker Carlson wasn’t arguing that students shouldn’t have opinions about guns, he was unveiling the NRA’s new position to lower the age to buy guns to 6.
21 Mar 2018 19:28 - +1195
Tucker Carlson clearly doesn’t know how a representative democracy works. Unless one of them is in Congress, they won’t be making laws. It’s really clear the deflection is out of hand. Kids don’t want to get shot, why is that so hard?
21 Mar 2018 20:30 - +1075
I'm not old enough to be president, but I've voted for president 3 times and will vote twice more before I'm old enough to run for president. What a stupid argument. Not being old enough to buy or do something has zero relation to your ability to have knowledge or an opinion on that topic.
21 Mar 2018 19:36 - +258
So if we reduced the gun ownership age, by his logic that automatically makes millions of new people qualified on the issue? Does he understand what it means to be knowledgeable?!
21 Mar 2018 20:39 - +177
and they're both right. kids shouldn't make laws, but can have an opinion
21 Mar 2018 20:43 - +167
Children are too young to buy porn, *but you better fucking believe* they're entitled to a negative stance on child porn.
21 Mar 2018 20:19 - +129
Vilifying your ideological opponents, that’s the way to do it. Trever Noah is implying that Tucker Carlson and anyone who take up his position are comfortable with kids being shot and killed, as if that’s something they’re fine with and it’s just an acceptable loss. We do want to affect change which results in an end to school shootings like the one in Parkland, *we do not* want to relinquish unto you our freedom in the process. Is it easier to you to just ban guns outright? Perhaps it is, but could you for a moment entertain the idea that perhaps preserving freedom is *worth* doing things the hard way? There are measures that could be implemented which would result in a decrease or halt to gun violence in schools, and it doesn’t involve taking away freedom. Are any of you open to having that discussion?
21 Mar 2018 20:47 - +124
What if, and hear me out. What if guns aren't the issue but instead a shitty society is the issue.
21 Mar 2018 20:37 - +76
Pretty sure we don't want a 2 year old's opinion on guns to be taken seriously, and they're old enough to be shot...
21 Mar 2018 20:45 - +66
This argument is missing a chromosome. Literally anyone can get shot doesn’t make you on expert on how getting shot works. Just makes you an expert on the pain of getting shot.
21 Mar 2018 20:53 - +59
Thank you for putting the punchline in the title, otherwise, I wouldn’t have been able to understand the same punchline in the image.
21 Mar 2018 20:38 - +49
If you don’t think kids are mature enough to handle the responsibility of a weapon, why would you respect their opinion on the laws that govern those weapons? That is a respectable and fair point. Not wanting to get shot is an instinctual emotional instinct, and not made by the part of the brain that good lawmaking comes from.
21 Mar 2018 20:42 - +47
"Those who would give up essential liberty for peace deserve neither." - Ben Franklin
21 Mar 2018 20:59 - +39
Jesus this comment section is biased. Like I get that this sub leans left but this is kind of ridiculous.
21 Mar 2018 20:56 - +32
I mean, you can shoot a baby and they can’t even talk yet.
21 Mar 2018 21:05 - +31
Having an opinion about being shot is not the same as having a knowledge about gun laws or the impact they have on a society. Anyone is old enough to be shot. One isn’t born with a bulletproof shield around them that disappears at a certain age. You’re born old enough to be shot, but we should not take opinions on gun reform or solutions to gun violence seriously if they’re coming from the mouth of an infant. They can have an opinion about being shot, but we as a society should stop equating opinions to facts.
21 Mar 2018 21:20 - +30
Of course everyone can have an opinion, but that’s not what Tucker was saying. He’s simply pointing out that just because you went through a tragedy involving guns doesn’t mean you automatically know everything about guns
21 Mar 2018 20:57 - +26
Having an opinion is not equal to making laws. It's a false equivalency, and Trevor Noah embarasses himself forcing his employers' opinions on the public
21 Mar 2018 20:51 - +25
kids are old enough to use money, should they set our monetary policies? see how retarded that logic is?
21 Mar 2018 20:53 - +18
They also eat tide pods so there’s that.
21 Mar 2018 20:59 - +17
Of course everyone is entitled to their opinion. You can shoot a toddler but I doubt you'd want a group of kindergartners writing laws.
21 Mar 2018 20:50 - +14
“Old enough to be shot” isn’t a good argument for anything. There’s literally no age limit to who can be shot. I don’t want children determining the country’s laws. Kids are retarded, don’t you remember high school?
21 Mar 2018 21:16 - +13
But doesn't that mean babies should have an opinion on abortions?
21 Mar 2018 21:30 - +13
That is some solid logic. I'll get my toddler to send in his opinion
21 Mar 2018 20:01 - +13
Propaganda works very well.
21 Mar 2018 20:56 - +11
Trevor Noah is considered funny now? I thought everyone hated him on the daily show.
21 Mar 2018 21:08 - +11
Why does every single important place of business have an armed guard but not a school filled with kids?? Actually answer me don't just be political losers here Office buildings have armed guards, court houses have armed guards, amusement parks have armed guards, the celebrities at the Oscars have armed guards, schools do not. So what you're trying to tell me is that Disney World deserves protection but not a school filled with kids?? I cant wait for the downvotes from the pathetic gun control fools rationalizing it like you're on CNN. EVERYTHING IMPORTANT IS PROTECTED BY ARMED GUARDS EXCEPT KIDS AT SCHOOL. SOMEONE EXPLAIN THIS TO ME. Thanks!
21 Mar 2018 21:19 - +9
I think we should defer to the generation eating Tide pods to dictate our gun laws.
21 Mar 2018 20:50 - +9
Society doesn't allow kids to get shot on the expectation they are mature enough to handle it and the issue is not with them having an opinion, it's with the idea that their opinion should guide national policy based on the supposed merit of having suffered trauma. Trevor Noah isn't even trying anymore.
21 Mar 2018 21:34 - +9
I detest meme politics. They are intended to do nothing more than incite the other side and does nothing to prove a point or speak to the intelligence of its creator.
21 Mar 2018 21:31 - +9
If they eat Tide pods should raise driving age to 21.
21 Mar 2018 21:00 - +8
There is a significant difference between having an opinion, and understanding how that opinion translates to a policy that affects hundreds of millions of people. The question is still sound, despite the comedic reduction of it. There isn't an adult in the room who would suddenly give up the management of their life to kids. The idea would be absurd to most. Policy has the potential to affect hundreds of millions of lives, and it is wrapped in a very complicated world. To insinuate the kids who have no experience in the world, and who have not even finished their basic education have some kind of grasp on that... it just defies logic. Edit - spelling
21 Mar 2018 21:30 - +8
I'm not an illegal immigrant so i shouldn't have a say in our immigration laws. I've never killed so I shouldn't dictate murder legislation. Dumb fucking straw man arguments
21 Mar 2018 22:11 - +8
Anyone at any age can be shot. His line of reasoning is pure bullshit.
21 Mar 2018 20:53 - +7
What has age got to do with whether its possible to shoot you? So they are saying that 2 year olds should have the right to vote on gun legislation? Dumb meme.
21 Mar 2018 20:53 - +6
If you have to take such a stupid position just to be able to attack your political opponent you are probably on the wrong side of the argument.
21 Mar 2018 21:31 - +6
Replace shot with stabbed.
21 Mar 2018 20:56 - +5
Appeal to humor. The first line indicates that teens are not intellectually equip to promote gun laws. The second line does not respond to that.
21 Mar 2018 21:34 - +3
Having an opinion on being shot is different from influencing/protesting a change on a law. Nobody is saying they're not allowed to have an opinion on what it's like to be shot. There have been extremely young children shot before, should we be taking >5 year olds opinions into consideration for laws too, where is the line drawn?
21 Mar 2018 20:56 - +3
Whilst I agree with the sentiment, that's not strictly true.
21 Mar 2018 23:12 - +3
The fact that conservatives are now shaming children who survived a school shooting becuase guns is fucking bat shit crazy.
21 Mar 2018 22:43 - +3
Sounds like a sweet "zinger" but anyone with half a brain knows this logic is completely stupid. A 4 year old is old enough to get in a car wreck, why not let them drive and make car laws? So dumb.
21 Mar 2018 22:43 - +3
That's not what he said though. Old enough to be shot /= old enough to own a gun. I disagree with the guy on the top but that's a false equivalent.
21 Mar 2018 22:47 - +3
Laws and opinions are two very different things.
21 Mar 2018 20:51 - +2
And that opinion can and will be criticized.
21 Mar 2018 20:38 - +1
Hello, and welcome to /r/PoliticalHumor! Glad to have you. Please be sure to [read the rules:](/r/politicalhumor/about/rules) * Comments must be civil! Unruly threads may be locked and uncivil users may be banned. No personal attacks or slurs allowed! We're trusting you to be respectful to your fellow user while in /r/PoliticalHumor, so please don't let us down. We believe in you! Don't want to see /r/PoliticalHumor content any more? No problem! Use [RES](/r/Enhancement), the /all filter, or your [mobile app preferences](https://www.reddit.com/r/redditmobile/comments/5frpbf/you_can_now_filter_rall_on_a_desktop_browser_and/).

Current top posts:

VENOM - Official Trailer (HD) (878 comments)
Stan Lee. (69 comments)
Boris Groh’s “13” Giant Skeleton (53 comments)
Wait a sec (66 comments)
omg, no pic
Alleged driver in deadly Toronto van attack was an incel angered by the rejection of women. (1239 comments)
Attempted robbery in mexico (206 comments)
EA's Origin asked for a review. EA, Am I doing it right? (115 comments)
Incognito (64 comments)
Turbulence, oil on canvas, 24x36" (35 comments)
A medical student after six years (186 comments)